It is currently Tue Dec 18, 2018 6:02 pm




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 39 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
 Help!!! My Modem Is On It's Way Out - I Think 
Author Message
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 03, 2006 5:00 pm
Posts: 4263
Location: England
Post Help!!! My Modem Is On It's Way Out - I Think
OK, so usually my modem displays 2 solid green lights to show that my connection is fine. Lately 1 of the green lights has started flashing sometimes and it also disconnects my internet. This is usually quickly sorted out with a quick whack on the side of the modem but i'm not sure if it will last much longer. I'm pretty sure it's the modem as it fixes itself when i move it and stuff but it can also fix itself if i just leave it. I'm not sure whether or not i should order a modem for my internet service provider or maybe it can be fixed quite easily. Can someone please shed some light on this situation as it's doing my head in. Thanks.

:wink:

_________________
Help Support PowerSellersForum By Using Our ebay bargain finder.

SaleHoo Wholesale - A Specialist Wholesale Directory.

Build A Niche Store Today (Click Here)


Mon Dec 18, 2006 9:31 pm
Profile WWW
member
member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 13, 2006 5:05 pm
Posts: 618
Location: South London
Post 
Hi ya, sorry to hear that, what a pain! I dread anything going wrong with mine so you have my sympathy! My modem does the same, 1 light flashes, keeps disconnecting, then ok. Im with BT Yahoo/broadband, who are you with? Maybe give your service provider a call, sods law, it could conk out over Christmas, so its up to you if you are able to cope with that or not! Sorry cant help with more technical stuff!
Sometimes it helps if I disconnect the whole thing, including cables at the back etc and the phone cable too then reattach everything.
Also, I did find a problem with my phone socket which could have made things worse.
Good luck! Let me know how you get on for when mine packs up!
Give em a ring, see how you get on.
If you dont shoot you dont score goals, get them to send you a free one, its Christmas!
xxx

_________________
FabD9Hosting
Turn Internet Traffic Into A Steady Income
You Want To Save Money On Ebay Don't You?


Mon Dec 18, 2006 9:39 pm
Profile
member
member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 24, 2006 1:43 pm
Posts: 1407
Post 
I'm with NTL and as far as i'm awear if anything happens to my modem they either fix it or replace it.
I could be wrong :? never had any trouble and ive had it about 6 years now ( with 1 replacement).
The service is free ,as long as you havent been throwing it at the walls of course :wink:

_________________
Image
Leta's Blog
Mrs cashback
Free business cards here


Mon Dec 18, 2006 10:43 pm
Profile WWW
member
member

Joined: Mon Oct 30, 2006 2:20 pm
Posts: 1520
Location: "Somewhere above the centre of the Earth!" " that's a strange name,
Post Re: Help!!! My Modem Is On It's Way Out - I Think
sausage wrote:
OK, so usually my modem displays 2 solid green lights to show that my connection is fine. Lately 1 of the green lights has started flashing sometimes and it also disconnects my internet. This is usually quickly sorted out with a quick whack on the side of the modem but i'm not sure if it will last much longer.

:wink:


Well, quick whack on the side of the modem, an't going to fix it :.: There is a loose connection somewhere inside, should be easy to fix, finding it may be a problem.

Don't fart about, get yourself a new one. or send me the unit and I'll fix it for you.

These look to be good..
NEW TP LINK 802.11G WIRELESS FIREWALL ROUTER 54MBPS there are 4 lan conectors and 1 wan on the back

Built-in 8 LAN 1 WAN Ports 10/100 Fast Ethernet Network Switch

Netgear MR 814 802.11b WiFi Wireless Router

northstar wrote:
Hi ya, sorry to hear that, what a pain! I dread anything going wrong with mine so you have my sympathy! My modem does the same, 1 light flashes, keeps disconnecting, then ok. Im with BT Yahoo/broadband, who are you with? Maybe give your service provider a call, sods law, it could conk out over Christmas, so its up to you if you are able to cope with that or not! Sorry cant help with more technical stuff!
Sometimes it helps if I disconnect the whole thing, including cables at the back etc and the phone cable too then reattach everything.
Also, I did find a problem with my phone socket which could have made things worse.
Good luck! Let me know how you get on for when mine packs up!
Give em a ring, see how you get on.
If you dont shoot you dont score goals, get them to send you a free one, its Christmas!
xxx


NorthStar, You are something else, 8)

_________________
"In the end, more than freedom, they wanted security. They wanted a comfortable life, and they lost it all – security, comfort, and freedom. Whet the Athenians finally wanted not to give to society but for society to give to them, when the freedom they wished for most was freedom from responsibility, then Athens ceased to be free and was never free again"


Tue Dec 19, 2006 9:46 am
Profile WWW
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 03, 2006 5:00 pm
Posts: 4263
Location: England
Post 
Well i've tried again today and so far so good, touch wood. Yesterday to add insult to injury everytime i was getting disconnected i was losing track of all the new posts made :x Do you have to use the modem issued by your ISP or can you use more?

_________________
Help Support PowerSellersForum By Using Our ebay bargain finder.

SaleHoo Wholesale - A Specialist Wholesale Directory.

Build A Niche Store Today (Click Here)


Tue Dec 19, 2006 10:53 am
Profile WWW
member
member

Joined: Mon Oct 30, 2006 2:20 pm
Posts: 1520
Location: "Somewhere above the centre of the Earth!" " that's a strange name,
Post 
sausage wrote:
Well i've tried again today and so far so good, touch wood. Yesterday to add insult to injury everytime i was getting disconnected i was losing track of all the new posts made :x Do you have to use the modem issued by your ISP or can you use more?


You can use any router/modem you want, the only thing is, setting it up.
With, lets say BT, they send you the software to setup automatically.
If you buy one as say a third party, then you will have to set it up manually.
Not as bad as it may seem, so long as you have all the details.

IE. username and password for your ISP, IP address of the router, that will only be one of two. 192.168.1.1 or 192.196.1.0. Every house in the UK that has a router connected to the internet uses these IP, for your local settings.

eg, your house has 4 units, 3 PC's one printer, the router will have one of the above, so lets say 192.168.1.1, the printer could be 192.168.1.2 PC 1 will be 192.196.1.3 PC 2 = 192.168.1.4 etc

Your ISP will normally give routers/modems out for FREE, so getting in touch with them should get them to send you one. Bear in mind the the units they give out for free are very basic, Yes they do the job they need to do, BUT you can buy better.
I have a BT unit here thats still in the box they sent it in, But I use mine, a D-Link 504, It's a better unit.
Also bear in mind that if you use BitTorrent you will need to setup the redirect within the router. This is all very simple stuff sausage, so don't let my writting confuese you.
If you need more help then PLEASE PM me and I will help as much as I can.. we could use SKYPE as a means of coms between us as you are playing, sort of LIVE Help.

Hope this helps mate.

_________________
"In the end, more than freedom, they wanted security. They wanted a comfortable life, and they lost it all – security, comfort, and freedom. Whet the Athenians finally wanted not to give to society but for society to give to them, when the freedom they wished for most was freedom from responsibility, then Athens ceased to be free and was never free again"


Tue Dec 19, 2006 11:27 am
Profile WWW
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 03, 2006 5:00 pm
Posts: 4263
Location: England
Post 
Very helpfull, thanks. The modem seems fine this morning but just to be sure i'm going to buy a new one in the new year so i may take you up on that offer Saviour.

Thanks!

_________________
Help Support PowerSellersForum By Using Our ebay bargain finder.

SaleHoo Wholesale - A Specialist Wholesale Directory.

Build A Niche Store Today (Click Here)


Tue Dec 19, 2006 11:32 am
Profile WWW
member
member

Joined: Mon Oct 30, 2006 2:20 pm
Posts: 1520
Location: "Somewhere above the centre of the Earth!" " that's a strange name,
Post 
sausage wrote:
Very helpfull, thanks. The modem seems fine this morning but just to be sure i'm going to buy a new one in the new year so i may take you up on that offer Saviour.

Thanks!


No probs sausage, call it a Christmas Presy. :.: :.: :.: :.: ETC....

_________________
"In the end, more than freedom, they wanted security. They wanted a comfortable life, and they lost it all – security, comfort, and freedom. Whet the Athenians finally wanted not to give to society but for society to give to them, when the freedom they wished for most was freedom from responsibility, then Athens ceased to be free and was never free again"


Tue Dec 19, 2006 11:38 am
Profile WWW
member
member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 13, 2006 5:05 pm
Posts: 618
Location: South London
Post 
8) ta saviour........am taking it as a compliment! :D

_________________
FabD9Hosting
Turn Internet Traffic Into A Steady Income
You Want To Save Money On Ebay Don't You?


Tue Dec 19, 2006 12:27 pm
Profile
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 03, 2006 5:00 pm
Posts: 4263
Location: England
Post 
It's happening again!!!!

:x :( :x :cry: :evil:

Could it be the ISP? as it's been fine all day.

_________________
Help Support PowerSellersForum By Using Our ebay bargain finder.

SaleHoo Wholesale - A Specialist Wholesale Directory.

Build A Niche Store Today (Click Here)


Tue Dec 19, 2006 4:28 pm
Profile WWW
member
member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 30, 2006 5:18 pm
Posts: 521
Location: Southampton
Post 
sausage wrote:
It's happening again!!!!

:x :( :x :cry: :evil:

Could it be the ISP? as it's been fine all day.


Saviour's PC has gone AWOL, so on his behalf....

Who's your ISP, sausage?
What make of router have you got?

Need that info, before anything else can be done!

Tinne.


Tue Dec 19, 2006 7:40 pm
Profile
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 03, 2006 5:00 pm
Posts: 4263
Location: England
Post 
Hi Tinne. My modem is a speedtouch 330 and my ISP is

:x Wanadoo :x

I rang them earlier and they give me some story about how if i needed a new modem it would not display two solid lights ever and they told me that the most likely cause was my windows firewall and anti-virus (which is what they tell me everytime i have a problem) anyway they told me to switch off my firewall and anti-virus and then re-install the modem software from www.speedtouch.co.uk/330.asp (which is also what they tell me every time i ring) The people at wanadoo are utterly useless and as soon as my contract finishes with them i'm changing providers. I'm really on my own here.

What is happening is this... every time i log on to the internet it's fine with two solid lights on my modem, after about 5 minutes one of the lights will start flashing and i get disconnected... The light will flash for about 30 seconds until it stops and then i can re-connect. After about 5 minutes the process is repeated and i lose connection again.

:evil: :x :evil:

_________________
Help Support PowerSellersForum By Using Our ebay bargain finder.

SaleHoo Wholesale - A Specialist Wholesale Directory.

Build A Niche Store Today (Click Here)


Tue Dec 19, 2006 10:10 pm
Profile WWW
member
member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 30, 2006 5:18 pm
Posts: 521
Location: Southampton
Post 
sausage wrote:
Hi Tinne. My modem is a speedtouch 330 and my ISP is

:x Wanadoo :x

I rang them earlier and they give me some story about how if i needed a new modem it would not display two solid lights ever and they told me that the most likely cause was my windows firewall and anti-virus (which is what they tell me everytime i have a problem) anyway they told me to switch off my firewall and anti-virus and then re-install the modem software from www.speedtouch.co.uk/330.asp (which is also what they tell me every time i ring) The people at wanadoo are utterly useless and as soon as my contract finishes with them i'm changing providers. I'm really on my own here.

What is happening is this... every time i log on to the internet it's fine with two solid lights on my modem, after about 5 minutes one of the lights will start flashing and i get disconnected... The light will flash for about 30 seconds until it stops and then i can re-connect. After about 5 minutes the process is repeated and i lose connection again.

:evil: :x :evil:


Saviour says....

he vaguely remembers this happening to you a couple of months ago... the sooner you get away from "cannotdoo", the better.... oh, Saviour can't swear, because I'm doing the typing :!: :wink:

Tinne.

P.S. As I've got a belter of a cold & rotten sinusitis, I'm off to bed, so Saviour is now allowed to use my laptop, as his PC is not well. :wink:


Tue Dec 19, 2006 10:18 pm
Profile
member
member

Joined: Mon Oct 30, 2006 2:20 pm
Posts: 1520
Location: "Somewhere above the centre of the Earth!" " that's a strange name,
Post 
northstar wrote:
8) ta saviour........am taking it as a compliment! :D
:D

_________________
"In the end, more than freedom, they wanted security. They wanted a comfortable life, and they lost it all – security, comfort, and freedom. Whet the Athenians finally wanted not to give to society but for society to give to them, when the freedom they wished for most was freedom from responsibility, then Athens ceased to be free and was never free again"


Tue Dec 19, 2006 10:34 pm
Profile WWW
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 03, 2006 5:00 pm
Posts: 4263
Location: England
Post 
., thats true but it's slightly different this time. The last time i was only allowed to view google and a few other pages, this time i get disconnected whatever page i'm on, It's not fussy. I agree totally, i need to get out of this hell hole that they call wanadoo. I had a few recommendations last time i was on here. I'm 95% certain it's my modem playing up but wanadoo say i'm wrong, am i? Is it worth re-installing my modem software or are they just being no brain pratts as per usual?

I HATE F*$&"%G WANADOO!!!

:evil: :evil: :evil:

_________________
Help Support PowerSellersForum By Using Our ebay bargain finder.

SaleHoo Wholesale - A Specialist Wholesale Directory.

Build A Niche Store Today (Click Here)


Tue Dec 19, 2006 10:53 pm
Profile WWW
member
member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 30, 2006 5:18 pm
Posts: 521
Location: Southampton
Post 
Saviour has had a quick look at the site you mentioned in your post, and says it might be advisable to get shot of that modem. With it being USB from PC to modem, that can cause you problems. Get yourself a decent network router - £20 to £30. Your PC should have network capabilities, so you'll also need a length of RJ45, cat 5E network cable (length depending on distance of PC to router. Cost should be about £5.)

Once you get it, Saviour will help you install it. That should eliminate 95% of your problems.

Tinne.


Tue Dec 19, 2006 11:25 pm
Profile
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 03, 2006 5:00 pm
Posts: 4263
Location: England
Post 
I'm currently using a RJ11 cable from upstairs to downstairs, Is this Ok? Also, what exactly is a router?

_________________
Help Support PowerSellersForum By Using Our ebay bargain finder.

SaleHoo Wholesale - A Specialist Wholesale Directory.

Build A Niche Store Today (Click Here)


Wed Dec 20, 2006 12:04 am
Profile WWW
member
member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 30, 2006 5:18 pm
Posts: 521
Location: Southampton
Post 
sausage wrote:
I'm currently using a RJ11 cable from upstairs to downstairs, Is this Ok? Also, what exactly is a router?


Are you on dial-up or broadband?

Tinne.


Wed Dec 20, 2006 12:12 am
Profile
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 03, 2006 5:00 pm
Posts: 4263
Location: England
Post 
I'm on Broadband.

_________________
Help Support PowerSellersForum By Using Our ebay bargain finder.

SaleHoo Wholesale - A Specialist Wholesale Directory.

Build A Niche Store Today (Click Here)


Wed Dec 20, 2006 12:17 am
Profile WWW
member
member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 30, 2006 5:18 pm
Posts: 521
Location: Southampton
Post 
OK. What you're calling a modem is a router, but more intelligent. It's basically what it says - it routes traffic. The one you're using, especially being USB, is using software on your PC to control it - a good router controls itself, once you've set it up, so all your PC has to do is say hello, now & again, and the router will keep you online.

What you need is the RJ11 cable attaching to a decent router, then an RJ45 cable from the router to the network socket on your PC.

Tinne.


Wed Dec 20, 2006 12:24 am
Profile
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 03, 2006 5:00 pm
Posts: 4263
Location: England
Post 
Network socket? will it be one of my USB plugs? I'm not really that techy, My apologies for being so dumb :oops: :oops: :oops:

Could you search a good router on eBay and post the link here as an example? Hopefully a very simple one :oops:

Thanks.

_________________
Help Support PowerSellersForum By Using Our ebay bargain finder.

SaleHoo Wholesale - A Specialist Wholesale Directory.

Build A Niche Store Today (Click Here)


Wed Dec 20, 2006 12:28 am
Profile WWW
member
member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 30, 2006 5:18 pm
Posts: 521
Location: Southampton
Post 
sausage wrote:
Network socket? will it be one of my USB plugs? I'm not really that techy, My apologies for being so dumb :oops: :oops: :oops:

No, it's not the USB plug. It looks the same as your RJ11, but larger, and will have 4 gold fingers inside.
Quote:

Could you search a good router on eBay and post the link here as an example? Hopefully a very simple one :oops:

Thanks.


These look to be good..
NEW TP LINK 802.11G WIRELESS FIREWALL ROUTER 54MBPS there are 4 lan conectors and 1 wan on the back

Built-in 8 LAN 1 WAN Ports 10/100 Fast Ethernet Network Switch

Netgear MR 814 802.11b WiFi Wireless Router

Have a look at these.


Wed Dec 20, 2006 12:37 am
Profile
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 03, 2006 5:00 pm
Posts: 4263
Location: England
Post 
Thanks Tinne, I seen something like these in someones house once and didn't have a clue what it was :oops: It looks like something that E.T brought with him :roll: are they easy to set up?

_________________
Help Support PowerSellersForum By Using Our ebay bargain finder.

SaleHoo Wholesale - A Specialist Wholesale Directory.

Build A Niche Store Today (Click Here)


Wed Dec 20, 2006 12:40 am
Profile WWW
member
member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 30, 2006 5:18 pm
Posts: 521
Location: Southampton
Post 
sausage wrote:
Thanks Tinne, I seen something like these in someones house once and didn't have a clue what it was :oops: It looks like something that E.T brought with him :roll: are they easy to set up?


Yes, Saviour says they're very easy to set up.

Tinne.


Wed Dec 20, 2006 12:42 am
Profile
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 03, 2006 5:00 pm
Posts: 4263
Location: England
Post 
OK I will have to get one of these from eBay after Xmas, I must admit though it's all very confusing to me. I always thought that the router provided by the ISP must be used with their software.

Thanks Tinne, and Thanks Saviour.

:wink:

_________________
Help Support PowerSellersForum By Using Our ebay bargain finder.

SaleHoo Wholesale - A Specialist Wholesale Directory.

Build A Niche Store Today (Click Here)


Wed Dec 20, 2006 12:47 am
Profile WWW
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 39 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 21 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Web Design Wigan Dog Kennels and Runs